Skip to content

Once Upon a Time

May 28, 2012

I’m an avid reader, or should I say I was before baby. I’d devour my business magazines (namely Inc, Entrepreneur & Fast Company) ripping out pages to further research. When I commuted to work, I’d listen to podcasts or audio books to and from work – Ah, and my long lost friend Kindle who accompanied me on every vacation – providing the vehicle to my library of $9.99 books, compliments of Amazon.com. Now, my poor old magazines have been summoned to the bookcase, waiting desperately to be read. Oh, and they’re now joined by Parents, American Baby and Baby Talk.

Now that Baby’s here, I’m more consumed with learning the words to all of the children’s songs, I, so long ago, forgot and am beginning to read to my dear girl – now that she’s not attached to my breast, sleeping or crying all of the time. I actually started by reading my books to her as I breastfed (multitasking tip) which enabled me to enjoy a book while she got to hear my voice and begin develop her own language skills. Not sure if she’ll actually remember the Story of Steve Jobs – but hopefully she will – and follow in his footsteps (wishful thinking)

Reading aloud to young children is the single most effective thing parents can do to help prepare their children to succeed in school; however, less than half of U.S. children ages 5 and under are read to every day, placing them at risk for reading delays and school failure.

Below is a list of books I’ve compiled, based on my own experience and/or recommendations from family and friends.

You can also view this compilation on Amazon here: Books Every Kid Should Own and here: Must Have Baby Books

Books Every Kid Should Own

  • Where the Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silverstein (my all time favorite book when I was a kid)
  • You Were Loved Before You Were Born by Eve Bunting
  • The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein
  • The Polar Express by Chris Van Allsburg
  • Mrs. Piggle Wiggle by Betty MacDonald
  • Oh! The Places You’ll Go by Dr. Seuss
  • Harold and the Purple Crayon by Crockett Johnson
  • Arm in Arm by Remy Charlip
  • Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak
  • The Stinky Cheese Man by Lane Smith
  • Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret by Judy Blume
  • Jonathan Livingston Seagull by Richard Bach
  • To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  • Just in Case You Ever Wonder by Max Lucado
  • Amelia Bedelia by Peggy Parish
  • Corduroy by Don Freeman
  • The Twiddlebugs’ Dream House by Pat Tornborg
  • The Monster at the End of This Book by Jon Stone
  • The Bible (despite whether you are religious or not – every child should have the opportunity to learn about religion)

Must Have Baby Books

  • Love You Forever by Robert Munsch and Sheila McGraw
  • My Very First Mother Goose Edited by Iona Opie
  • Five Little Monkeys Jumping on the Bed by Eileen Christelow
  • Guess How Much I Love You by Sam McBratney
  • Goodnight Moon by Margaret Wise Brown
  • The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle
  • Hugs and Kisses by Christophe Loupy
  • Good Night, Gorilla by Peggy Rathmann
  • ABC: An Amazing Alphabet Book! Dr Seuss
  • Wet Pet, Dry Pet, Your Pet, My Pet! by Dr. Seuss
  • On the Night You Were Born by Nancy Tillman
  • Where Is Baby’s Belly Button? by Karen Katz
  • If You Give a Mouse a Cookie by Laura Numeroff
  • We’re Going on a Bear Hunt by Michael Rosen
  • Press Here by Herve Tullet
  • Chicka Chicka Boom Boom by Bill Martin Jr. and John Archambault
  • I Love You, Stinky Face by Cyd Moore
  • Close Your Eyes by Kate Banks
  • Is Your Mama a Llama? by Deborah Guarino
  • Busy Penguins by John Schindel
  • “More More More,” Said the Baby by Vera B. Williams
  • Gossie by Olivier Dunrea
  • Dear Zoo by Rod Campbell
  • In the Tall, Tall Grass by Denise Fleming
  • Good Night, Gorilla by Peggy Rathmann
  • Are You My Mother? by P.D. Eastman
  • Kitten’s First Full Moon by Kevin Henkes
  • Peek-a-boo! by Roberta Grobel Intrater
  • Time to Get Dressed! by Elivia Savadier
  • Pat the Bunny by Dorothy Kunhardt
  • Wheels on the Bus by Raffi
  • Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? by Bill Martin, Jr.
  • Runaway Bunny by Margaret Wise Brown
From → After, During

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

